Criteria for an epic TV show

Everybody has that one show, guilty pleasure or not, that they snuggle up to snigger, sob or scream at. I have several of these and therefore no life. However, I’ve been thinking, what makes this show so attractive? Why is it this particular plot and these fictional characters that get me pining for the next episode? So I’ve compiled a list. I think if your show doesn’t have these features, it doesn’t deserve to be your favourite…

1. A catchy theme tune. Nothing is better than curbing your enthusiasm by singing along to the opening credits.

2. That one character. The sass-ass or the joker. That guy you can’t help but root for.

3. That cliff hanger. Waiting to find out whether Jess and Nick did get together. Or Mona got out of Radley. Nothing better than the seed of a cliffhanger growing and running wild in your mind, leaving you the gap between seasons on edge.

4. The relationship that should’ve been. Obviously, this sort of relies on the theme of the show but there should always be, by the end of a series, some unresolved sexual tension so that we can continue to wonder about what could’ve been.

I’m going to try something different now! Think of your favourite show and check if it checks with my epic tv show criteria.

So, how did it do?

Leave a comment