Walking

So, when walking from school to home today I had this really awkward thing happen that always seems to happen to when I’m walking any where alongside a road.

I’m minding my own business, pondering what snack I might have when I get home. Then the traffic to my right begins to build up, understandably because of the school run and as they approach the end of the queue the vehicles drive at the same speed I am walking at. Now, I hate awkwardness but on a relatively pleasant day like today people insist on leaving their windows open. This gets all uncomfortable because looking at them would be creepy, however not looking at them seems rude.  Finally, I pass the car. Phew. No more awkwardness.

But no. The powers that be wouldn’t let that happen.

The queues move forward and the car is, once more, parallel to your route. Obviously, they have noticed you and you have noticed them and it’s all a bit meh on your second encounter because all both parties want to do is get on with their day.

This situation is particularly ridiculing if it’s a school bus since you can feel about 120 eyes staring down at you, you are compelled to stare back and shout obscenities but you can’t. Then I start doing this thing where I get a nervous laugh, then I think about what a must look like to them, laugh even more, try to keep a straight face, laugh even more. It’s hideous.

Leave a comment